Winter's Heart. Book Nine of the Wheel of Time.

By Robert Jordan

Printed: 2000

Publisher: Orbit. London

Edition: First edition

Dimensions 17 × 24 × 6 cm

Language: English

Size (cminches): 17 x 24 x 6

Buy Now

Item information


In the original dustsheet. Navy cloth binding with gilt title on the spine.

  • F.B.A. provides an in-depth photographic presentation of this item to stimulate your feeling and touch. More traditional book descriptions are immediately available.

Rand is on the run with Min, but his destination is a mystery to Cadsuane. Mazrim Taim, leader of the Black Tower, is revealed to be a liar, but his purpose remains shrouded in secrecy.Perrin is hunting desperately for Faile, now a prisoner of Sevanna’s sept. With Elyas Machera, Berelain, the Prophet, and a very mixed army of disparate forces, he is moving through country rife with bandits and roving Seanchan … while in the wolfdream the man called Slayer seems to be hunting Perrin. In Tar Valon, the schemers and counter-schemers in Elaida’s White Tower are shaken to the core when Egwene and the rebels appear suddenly outside the walls. In Ebou Dar, the Seanchan princess known as Daughter of the Nine Moons arrives – and Mat, who has been recuperating in the Tarasin Palace, is introduced to her. Will the marriage that has been foretold come about?

WINTER’S HEART is a triumph of epic storytelling, and a magnificent addition to a landmark series in the fantasy genre.

Review: Robert Jordan’s “The Wheel of Time” sequence is one of the more ambitious current fantasy epics; its ninth volume Winter’s Heart advances a conclusion by fundamentally changing the rules of its war between overwhelming evil and deeply crippled good. Rand Al-Thor, in some sense a doomed hero born again, continues to travel the world seeking allies–as before, he finds himself caught up disastrously in the local politics of small city states and has to sort them out at some cost to himself. His fellow villagers–now the paladins of his crusade–deal with their own local problems; the agents of evil are abroad everywhere and have started to take this coterie of magically gifted youths seriously as a threat to their power and the return of their Dark master. The well-intentioned but over-reaching Aes Sedai nuns have started at last to deal with the infiltrators in their midst, and the invading Seanchan start to pursue goals beyond their strange cultural games of dominance and submission. And now Rand finally does something drastic–he attempts to cleanse male magic of the taint of madness that has crippled his world. Jordan’s many fans will be enthralled by this latest volume. –Roz Kaveney —

With The Wheel of Time, Jordan has come to dominate the world Tolkien began to reveal (New York Times)


James Oliver Rigney Jr. (October 17, 1948 – September 16, 2007), better known by his pen name Robert Jordan,[ was an American author of epic fantasy. He is known best for his series The Wheel of Time (finished by Brandon Sanderson after Jordan’s death) which comprises 14 books and a prequel novel. He is one of several writers to have written original Conan the Barbarian novels; his are considered by fans to be some of the best of the non-Robert E. Howard efforts. Jordan also published historical fiction using the pseudonym Reagan O’Neal, a western as Jackson O’Reilly, and dance criticism as Chang Lung. Jordan claimed to have ghostwritten an “international thriller” that is still believed to have been written by someone else.

Want to know more about this item?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have about this item. In addition, it is also possible to request more photographs if there is something specific you want illustrated.
Ask a question

Share this Page with a friend