The Forsyte Saga. Volumes I, II & III.

By John Galsworthy

Printed: 1932-1934

Publisher: Collins. London

Edition: Grove edition reprint

Dimensions 11 × 18 × 2 cm

Language: English

Size (cminches): 11 x 18 x 2

Buy Now

Item information


Black calf binding with gilt title on the spine and front board. Dimensions are for one volume.

F.B.A. provides an in-depth photographic presentation of this item to stimulate your feel and touch. More traditional book descriptions are immediately available.

A truly magnificent set.

The Forsyte Saga, first published under that title in 1922, is a series of three novels and two interludes published between 1906 and 1921 by the English author John Galsworthy, who won the Nobel Prize in Literature. They chronicle the vicissitudes of the leading members of a large upper-middle-class English family that is like Galsworthy’s. Only a few generations removed from their farmer ancestors, its members are keenly aware of their status as “new money”. The main character, the solicitor and connoisseur Soames Forsyte, sees himself as a “man of property” by virtue of his ability to accumulate material possessions, but that fails in bringing him pleasure.

Separate sections of the saga, as well as the lengthy story in its entirety, have been adapted for cinema and television. The Man of Property, the first book, was adapted in 1949 by Hollywood as That Forsyte Woman, starring Errol Flynn, Greer Garson, Walter Pidgeon, and Robert Young. In 1967, the BBC produced a popular 26-part serial that dramatized The Forsyte Saga and a subsequent trilogy concerning the Forsytes, A Modern Comedy. In 2002 Granada Television produced two series for the ITV network: The Forsyte Saga and The Forsyte Saga: To Let. Both made runs in the U.S. as parts of Masterpiece Theatre. In 2003, The Forsyte Saga was listed as #123 on the BBC’s The Big Read poll of the UK’s “best-loved novel”.

Following The Forsyte Saga, Galsworthy wrote two more trilogies and several more interludes based around the titular family. The resulting series is collectively titled The Forsyte Chronicles.

Want to know more about this item?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have about this item. In addition, it is also possible to request more photographs if there is something specific you want illustrated.
Ask a question

Share this Page with a friend