Doctor Thorne.

By Anthony Trollope

Printed: 1978

Publisher: Folio Society. London

Dimensions 16 × 24 × 4 cm

Language: English

Size (cminches): 16 x 24 x 4

Buy Now

Item information


In a fitted box. Orange cloth spine with gilt vertical line and title. Orange white vertical lined paper boards.

It is the intent of F.B.A. to provide an in-depth photographic presentation of this book offered so to almost stimulate your feel and touch on the book. If requested, more traditional book descriptions are immediately available.

Doctor Thorne by Anthony Trollope (Chapman and Hall, London, 1858) is the third novel in the Chronicles of Barsetshire series, between Barchester Towers and Framley Parsonage. The idea of the plot was suggested to Trollope by his brother Thomas. Though set in Barsetshire, Barchester and its familiar residents have little part in the narrative. Most of the narrative is based in the village of Greshamsbury, the seat of squire John Newbold Gresham, of an old and respected family, and his wife Lady Arabella, sister of the Earl de Courcy. They have a son and several daughters.

The titular Doctor Thorne lives in the village with his niece Mary. She is of a similar age to the Gresham children and since the doctor is well acquainted with squire Gresham, Mary spends a great deal of time at Greshamsbury Hall even though nothing is known of her background. However, the mystery of Mary’s birth is only a mystery to the numerous characters in the tale. It is one of Trollope’s most insistent principles to take the reader into his confidence.

The novel is mainly concerned with money and position. The Thornes are lesser cousins of the Thornes of Ullathorne and well below the De Courcy and Gresham families in status and wealth historically. Since Mary Thorne has neither family background nor money, she is unable to associate with her erstwhile playmates once they all grow older. However, another uncle of much lesser background, Roger Scatcherd goes some way to making up for his lack of background by making a large fortune, but alcoholism proves to be his downfall as might be expected in a book of this date.

Anthony Trollope 4 April 1815 – 6 December 1882 was an English novelist and civil servant of the Victorian era. Among his best-known works is a series of novels collectively known as the Chronicles of Barsetshire, which revolves around the imaginary county of Barsetshire. He also wrote novels on political, social, and gender issues, and other topical matters.

Trollope’s literary reputation dipped somewhat during the last years of his life, but he had regained the esteem of critics by the mid-20th century.


Condition notes

Box a bit worn, paper damaged on the back board.

Want to know more about this item?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have about this item. In addition, it is also possible to request more photographs if there is something specific you want illustrated.
Ask a question

Share this Page with a friend