An Enquiry After Happiness.

Printed: 1692

Publisher: Samuel Smith. St Pauls Churchyard

Edition: Second edition

Dimensions 12 × 19 × 3 cm

Language: English

Size (cminches): 12 x 19 x 3


Item information


Brown leather binding with no visible title. Cambridge panel binding.

    F.B.A. provides an in-depth photographic presentation of this item to stimulate your feel and touch. More traditional book descriptions are immediately available.

Second, revised & best edition of this perennially popular devotional work, first published in 1685.

From the Library of the Marquis of Lothian

Richard Lucas (1648/1649 – 29 June 1715) was a Welsh clergyman and writer of devotional works.

Richard Lucas was born at Presteigne, Radnorshire. He was educated at Jesus College, Oxford, matriculating there on 3 March 1665 at the age of 16. He obtained his B.A. in 1668 and his M.A. in 1672. He was appointed a Fellow of the college in 1671, holding this position until 1684.  He was, for a time, master of the school at Abergavenny, Monmouthshire.

After his ordination, his first major publication was Practical Christianity (1677), containing prayers and discussion on Christian living. This was a popular work and, coupled with his ability as a preacher, seems to have helped him to be appointed as rector of St. Stephen Coleman Street in 1678. He became lecturer of St Olave, Southwark, in 1683. Whilst his weak eyesight soon failed completely, he nonetheless wrote Enquiry after Happiness (1685), his most famous work. Other publications included The Duty of Servants (1685). In 1697, he was appointed to a prebend at Westminster Abbey and, in 1701, became president of Sion College. He died at Westminster on 29 June 1715 and was buried in the abbey.

Want to know more about this item?

We are happy to answer any questions you may have about this item. In addition, it is also possible to request more photographs if there is something specific you want illustrated.
Ask a question

Share this Page with a friend